You are here

No Wave

Sonic Youth


Sonic Youth were an American alternative rock band from New York City, formed in 1981. Their most recent lineup consisted of Thurston Moore (guitar, vocals), Kim Gordon (bass guitar, vocals, guitar), Lee Ranaldo (guitar, vocals), Steve Shelley (drums) and Mark Ibold (guitar, bass guitar).


Suicide is an American electronic protopunk musical duo, intermittently active since 1970 and composed of vocalist Alan Vega and Martin Rev on synthesizers and drum machines.

Alan Vega

Alan Vega (born Boruch Alan Bermowitz) is an American vocalist, primarily known for his work with electronic protopunk duo, Suicide. He is also an established sculptor.

James White & the Blacks

James White & the Blacks were a late 1970's No Wave group comprised of James White (aka James Chance) and most of his other group, The Contortions (with the notable exception of Adele Bertei).

Teenage Jesus & the Jerks

Teenage Jesus & the Jerks were an influential New York post-punk group who formed part of the city's No Wave movement. Founded by one-time CBGB's waitress Lydia Lunch and saxophonist James Chance, the group was active from 1976 to 1979.

James Chance & the Contortions

James Chance and the Contortions, led by saxophonist and vocalist James Chance, were one of the original punk jazz groups of the New York No Wave music scene.

James Chance

James Chance, also known as James White (born as James Siegfried) is an American saxophonist, songwriter and singer.

Subscribe to RSS - No Wave